The Burnt Ones

Your Online English Bookstore in Israel

21.00 NIS

SKU: 9780140027761-01

Availability: 0

Guaranteed safe checkout

amazon paymentsapple paybitcoingoogle paypaypalvisa

Patrick White

The Burnt Ones is a collection of eleven short stories by Australian writer Patrick White, first published by Eyre and Spottiswoode in 1964. Penguin Books published it in 1968 with reprints in 1972 and 1974. Each story in the collection, whose title refers to people burnt by society, has a reference to burning actually and in metaphor.

Seven of the stories are set in Australia and four are set in Greece or concern Greek migrants. The suburb of Sarsaparilla, the setting for several stories, is like Our Town of Thornton Wilder, but with White's "beadily disapproving gaze".

In White's first collection of a series of three, The Burnt Ones are haunted by feelings of isolation, intense self-examination, and an acute awareness of how they are different from others. The stories follow the theme of loneliness as do the second collection titled The Cockatoos, and Three Uneasy Pieces, his third and last collection.

Dead Roses
Willy-Wagtails by Moonlight
A Glass of Tea
The Evening at Sissy Kamara's
A Cheery Soul
Being Kind to Titina
Miss Slattery and her Demon Lover
The Letters
The Woman who wasn't Allowed to Keep Cats
Down at the Dump

Tags: All Products, Contemporary, Fiction, Short Stories

Translation missing: